Super Galactic Awesome Blog

super galactic view points on mundane earth issues

Review of Tubthumper (1997)

leave a comment »

Score – C-

Chumbawamba are best known – well almost only known – for there hit single “Tubthumping.” I got the Tubthumper cd for my 7th or 8th birthday, and I can remember jamming out to every single song while I played Waverace 64. Now that I’ve listened to it at an older age, I can’t help but feel silly for liking it so much back then. It’s an ok album, but not worth paying for (unless you find it for $3, which you probably could).

The album starts off with the one hit song, “Tubthumping,” an electro-punk-pop jam, and then continues on with more electro-punk-pop. There is definitely some ska influence as well. Well, some of the songs are more creative than that. I don’t know how to classify “Drip Drip Drip,” but I can tell you that punk has no part in it.  “Smalltown” has a kind of house vibe to it; the beat is pretty cool. “Scapegoat” has a fun, yet far too simple beat.

The lyrics on Tubthumper sound like a conversation between two conspiracy-theorist anarchists. I sung along with them when I was 8, but then again I also thoroughly enjoyed the taste of play-do when I was 8. The vocals that deliver these mediocre lyrics suck. I hate to be so blunt, but both the male and the female vocalists of Chumbawamba are annoying.

To summarize:

  • Tubthumper is ok, but not worth more than $3.
  • The album features the hit song “Tubthumping.”
  • Chumbawamba’s musical sound is like electro-ska-punk-pop. It sounds about as good in reality as it does in theory.
  • The lyrics aren’t too good and neither are the singers.
Written by danielperry99

January 20, 2011 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

